I bought a slow-cooker….and used it!

On Monday I saw a tip from one of the “great deal” pages that I follow (I tried to find which one it was to link to them but I can’t find it, sorry!) that the 4 Quart Crock-Pot was on sale for $18 on Amazon.com!  That’s less than eating out ONCE!

–As my best friend would say, “It’s a no-brainer!”–

I had always thought about getting a crock-pot and decided that I couldn’t pass up a great deal like $18 so I ordered it.  My husband argues that it wouldn’t have cost much more for a top-of-the-line one with all the bells & whistles but he pointed that out a little too late.  My crock-pot was on it’s way to me!

Yesterday, in all my excitement, started asking friends & family for slow-cooker recipes.  I also went to Pinterest (guilty pleasure, YES!) to find a few great recipes!  I came home form work to find that my new slow-cooker had arrived — A day EARLY!  After dinner I ran to the store with my iPhone and my All-Recipes app loaded up and ready to get my first recipe’s ingredients!

This morning I prepared the ingredients and threw them into the pot (cut an onion, minced some garlic, measured a few teaspoons of some seasonings – about 10 min prep work), turned it on and went to work.  My family came home to a beautiful, and delicious entree!  All I had left to do was make some yellow rice to serve the chicken on and reheat some leftover broccoli.

I had a happy family, well, except for the picky toddler who decided he wanted mac & cheese instead.

Total Cost:  About $13 (factoring in the rice & brocolli which I already had here, but not

the seasonings which were already in my pantry…oh, and a little more for the mac & cheese)
Nutritional Value: GREAT

The chicken is approx 150 calories per serving & the yellow rice is 110 calories per serving

For those of you that know me, this is a HUGE step for me!  I am NOT (in the LEAST BIT) what you would call a “good cook” or the kind of person who likes to try new recipes.  The kitchen, quite frankly, SCARES me!  My favorite meal is ANY that I don’t have to cook!  But this machine may have changed all that!  The possibilities are endless!  SO many recipes, so little time!  I can’t wait to try the next one!  I am supposed to be going out to

dinner tomorrow night and yet I still want to make a meal tomorrow just to try it!  Why waste the day not cooking?

If anyone has a great recipe please send it to me!  My email is bcffejill@gmail.com

Below is the recipe I tried today!

Ingredients

  • 3 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 (8 ounce) jar medium salsa
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 pinch salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Arrange the chicken breasts in the bottom of a slow cooker, and pour in the salsa and tomato sauce. Add the garlic and onion, and sprinkle in the cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper. Set the cooker on Low, and cook until the chicken is very tender, 4 to 5 hours. Shred the chicken with two forks for serving.

That’s it!  Easy-peasy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I bought a slow-cooker….and used it!

  1. Donna says:

    Love, love, love my crockpot(s). I just got a pressure cooker. I think the name comes from the fact that you get home, realize you didn’t start dinner, the pressure is on…not the fact that it cooks under pressure.

    There are tons of great recipes out there for crockpots. Check out Crockin’ Girls on Facebook, and Sandra Lee recipes on Food Network website. Sandra Lee is great because she uses everyday items we find in our homes.

    • Girlieeee says:

      Oh I will check out those sites, thank you! I ended up becoming a paying member of the allrecipes website because they let you customize a lot more that way. All the recipe’s I’ve used so far have come from there. I love that they are ranked by users and you can tell when there is a “good one”. Thanks for the sites- going to check them out now!

Leave a Reply

